top of page

Superheroes in Literature




National Superhero Day is April 28th. In the spirit of this day, I have decided to compile a short list of books with superheroes and/or individuals with super powers as main characters.


Renegades by Marissa Meyer


Marissa Meyer is the author of multiple fantasy series. Renegades is the first in a trilogy with two main characters that are not as different as they may seem. Adrian seeks justice for the murder of his mother while Nova seeks to infiltrate and bring crumbling down the Renegades: the team of superheroes who failed to save her family, that Adrian just so happens to be connected to. This book is full of incredible powers, secret identities, and intrigue.


The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken


This book has been made into a movie and is the first in a trilogy. In The Darkest Minds, many of America's children have perished due to an unknown illness. Those who survive are left with frightening abilities that get them sent to "rehabilitation camps" where their powers are suppressed, and they are treated cruelly. Ruby, the main character in this book, escapes one of these camps and seeks the only haven that will take those like her- East River.


Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard


According to the author's website, "Red Queen, by #1 New York Times bestselling author Victoria Aveyard, is a sweeping tale of power, intrigue, and betrayal, perfect for fans of George R.R. Martin’s Game of Thrones series."


(https://victoriaaveyard.com/book/red-queen/) The main character of this book, Mare, lives in a world rife with the division where Reds (commoners) serve Silvers, who have been given special abilities. Mare lived her whole life thinking she was a Red until one day, she appears in front of the Silver Court and discovers that she has an ability of her own.


Vicious by V.E. Schwab


According to the author's website, this book is "A masterful, twisted tale of ambition, jealousy, betrayal, and superpowers, set in a near-future world. Victor and Eli started out as college roommates–brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same sharpness and ambition in each other. In their senior year, a shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities. But when their thesis moves from the academic to the experimental, things go horribly wrong." (https://veschwab.wordpress.com/books-at-a-glance/vicious/)

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page